Kathleen McCall:
Occasional�� Muse�



List of All Essays

Latest
E-mail Me
Recommend
Profile

Please sign the guestbook

Diaryland
Others
Start Your Own

2002-03-04 - 9:25 p.m.

Time For Kids

I went in search of a watch yesterday. I didn't find one, but both the girls chose to spend their own money on watches for themselves.

Younger Daughter, of course, was not so much interested in the watch as the theme - she found a Harry Potter watch, and simply HAD to have it. If it's Harry Potter, she must own it immediately. I do want to write to JK Rowling and suggest that perhaps Harry, in her next book, might take to making his bed and eating green vegetables. In the meantime, we have his watch.

Older Daughter wanted a watch, too, but hers had to be a fashion statement. She ended up with a bright blue sports watch with a magnified fish-eye face that hurts my eyes to look at. She's happy.

Both children bought digital watches, knowing damn well that I will not buy digital watches for children, especially Younger Daughter who is not exactly on solid terms with analog clocks. Analog first, I always say. Tight-ass, they always reply.

But here was the interesting part, if you've stuck with me this far. Both girls wanted their watches set, and set CORRECTLY. So - what time IS IT? I set Younger Daughter's watch by my computer, which is the clock I use to get ready in the morning and is pretty much in line with the clock at her school, although the car clock is a little off School Time so there's a little jet-lag on the trip over. But it's good enough.

Older Daughter was immediately concerned. She set hers by the digital clock in her room, which was a minute or two different. So now I must disconnect from the Internet so she can CALL time, and set her watch accordingly, and then Younger Daughter's watch must be synchronized with hers so we can all be RIGHT. Being right, apparently, is very important here.

I'm amused, and not facilitating the process at all. How do you know POPCORN is right? I ask her. And since her watch does not show the seconds, and neither does her sister's, she is increasingly frustrated when the watches show a different time a few minutes after she's set them.

What if your school's clock is three minutes fast? I ask her. What matters more, that your clock is "right" according to the phone company, or that you're on time for school by THEIR clock? I tell her I reset my old watch (it's the winding kind) every morning to match the clock at work, because that's what counts to me. It's all relative.

Older Daughter is not seeing any wisdom in my lackadaisical approach. From her point of view, all clocks should be legally required to be exactly the same. I'll bet she would apply for the position as International Clock Cop. I can already see her figuring out how to rearrange her room to fit that big pendulum. There's a RIGHT time, damnit, and that's THAT.

Younger daughter is just happy to see Harry on her wrist. Harry is good. Mom will get her to school on time.

Yeah, I know I can set my computer clock to atomic time, and yeah, I know how to do it. But I have no atomic time in my life. I have Elementary School Time, and Work Time, and every Thursday night I have ER Time, which is unfortunately usually fifteen minutes past Thank God I Can Go To Bed Time. I don't care what mythical time it "really" is.

Older Daughter is the quiet type, but she's very determined. It would not surprise me if I get a memo in a week or so from her school, announcing that their clocks will now by synched with the National Bureau of Standards, and apologizing for their previously sloppy timekeeping habits.

previous - next

get notified when I add stuff:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com





When the homework is done, the crime-fighting begins.