Kathleen McCall:
Occasional�� Muse�



List of All Essays

Latest
E-mail Me
Recommend
Profile

Please sign the guestbook

Diaryland
Others
Start Your Own

2001-11-22 - 2:03 p.m.

Take the Picture NOW

Yes. It's just perfect.

BF is on the floor playing playstation racing games with Older Daughter. Younger daughter is playing with the little girl next door. It's just beginning to rain and we have all the doors and windows open to let in the cool clean air. I'm still in jammies, which is perfect too, and the kitchen is clean and organized. Pumpkin and chocolate desserts are finished, cranberry apricot chutney, homemade applesauce, spinach dip, the dough for the herb bread, and the "cooky is turking", as the kid put it this morning. (This is the kid that asked yesterday for a raisel bagin; I think her speech is having an awkward growth spurt.) I'll mash the potatoes, make the gravy, grill the zucchini and toss the salad later. (Why does that sound like a lot of work when I write it out? It isn't, is it? It better not be.)

BF helped me with the turkey so I didn't have that stupid hands-full-of-turkey-forgot-to-get-the-roasting-rack-out thing happening; he even ground pepper on and was cheerful when the peppercorns ran out and he had to refill the grinder in the middle of it all. I have washed eash dish and utensil as I used it, so I am just in total Martha control, gracious even if pajama-clad.

Take the picture now, please. In a few short hours I will wonder why I ever thought one could make a dozen or more items and still stay on top of the dishes, the kids will be bored with the playstation and start bickering, the kitchen will be hot enough to make me sweat and I will have run out of room on every available flat surface. I will probably still be in jammies and cross at the thought that I will have to sit down to dinner with wet hair because I didn't get away to shower until just before dinner.

Or not. This is a low-pressure year, and that's a great thing. It makes me happy. I can eat dinner in my jammies with my "happy hair" and just be glad I could afford a cooky to turk.

What a fine day. Happy Thanksgiving.

previous - next

get notified when I add stuff:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com





When the homework is done, the crime-fighting begins.