Kathleen McCall:
Occasional�� Muse�



List of All Essays

Latest
E-mail Me
Recommend
Profile

Please sign the guestbook

Diaryland
Others
Start Your Own

2001-11-25 - 8:14 p.m.

Honesty

I came clean today, but it didn't help.

From the back of the car, youngest pipes up: "Mommy, is there really a Tooth Fairy or do YOU leave the toys?"

It was a moment of truth. Was this the time? Did she really want to know?

Solution: stall. "Do you really want me to tell you that?" (Answering her, really, but only if she really wanted the answer.)

Older daughter says in disgust, "I don't care anyway because I'm not losing any more teeth so it doesn't matter."

(Whew, a diversionary opening to dive into, thanks.) "Oh - you have those two on the bottom that the orthodontist says may have to come out...we need to tell your Dad about that, I forgot."

Youngest (with determination) "Mom, you didn't answer my question." (Oh Lordy, she really DOES want to know.)

(Pause for some high-speed merging onto the freeway, while considering the inevitable ripple effect of other imaginary-gift-bringing-personages, the impending loss of innocence, the transition out of childhood, and the possibility that Mommy may finally get credit for all those damn toys.)

"Okay. The Tooth Fairy is imaginary, she doesn't really exist. I sneak into your room at night and take the teeth and leave those toys."

Youngest considers. "I don't think I believe you."

Huh?

She persists: "Well, what about the Easter Bunny then?"

"Nope. That's me. I'm the Easter Bunny, too."

She sits back, satisfied. "Now I REALLY don't believe you."

Guess we've got another year or two of childhood there. That's okay by me.

previous - next

get notified when I add stuff:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com





When the homework is done, the crime-fighting begins.