Kathleen McCall:
Occasional�� Muse�



List of All Essays

Latest
E-mail Me
Recommend
Profile

Please sign the guestbook

Diaryland
Others
Start Your Own

2004-12-03 - 11:42 a.m.

Aaaargh


If you know where I live, and you know what I drive, I'd be watchin' out for me today. Or maybe you ought just stay off the road, unless you really HAVE to go out.

I can't find my eyeglasses.

I mean I can't. Find. The. Bloody. Things.

Anywhere.

I know they're somewhere. From a universal viewpoint. Which does me no good at all. I have no universal viewpoint; I have no viewpoint; I have no VIEW.

Okay. Yeah. Happened before. You didn't follow the wrong link and end up at the entry where I lost my glasses LAST year. This is today. Again. I lost them again.

I feel naked. Starkers. Barefaced. And myopic.

It all makes me tremendously crabby over everything, everything. If the house wasn't so messy! If I hadn't had to go to an unexpected meeting last night! If I hadn't had to stay up late helping the kid with the diorama THAT SHE SHOULD HAVE DONE TWO WEEKS AGO! Everything has conspired to bring me to that final point, the point where it was time to leave for work five minutes ago and I still could not find the only strictly necessary piece of equipment for driving safely. I can drive naked! Barefoot! Without a license! But I should NOT be driving without my eyeglasses.

Did it anyway. What else could I do?

If I were rich, I would have two pairs. So it's not only the fault of the diorama and the meeting, it's the fault of the shit wages they pay educators in this country. Yes!

Tell THAT to the first thing I run over.

I have (alternately) turned it over to my Higher Power, and snatched it back and run around the house tearing everything apart, and turned it back over and sat there in Zen-like peace, and then gone to look ONE MORE TIME in the car where I know the glasses cannot be, and then turned it over...

So far...no luck either way.

My glasses, my glasses, my precious specs, where oh where can they have gone?

Do not come near me on the road. I am cross, and extremely near-sighted. Plus, I drive a beat-up old van; I have NOTHING TO LOSE.

Note: the glasses were at the neighbor's house, from last night's meeting. They don't wear glasses and so did not realize what a big deal it was that they waited until after work this afternoon to tell me they had them. And I didn't tell them that I'd torn the house apart today and gone through all the garbage.


previous - next

get notified when I add stuff:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com





When the homework is done, the crime-fighting begins.